Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Riders forward chooses Minnesota State University

Press Release

 Cedar Rapids RoughRiders forward Casey Jerry has committed to play college hockey at Minnesota State University, Mankato following his USHL career.

It is the rookie USHL season for Jerry after the high-scoring forward completed a successful career at River Falls High School in Wisconsin.  The 18-year-old was named to the All-State First Team as a senior last spring.  He put up two points (1g, 1a) in seven preseason games for the Riders and will make his regular season debut this weekend as the team begins the 2013-14 campaign.

Six other current USHL players are also committed to Minnesota State University, Mankato; Jason Pawloski (Indiana Ice), Luca Frigo (Omaha Lancers), C.J. Franklin (Sioux Falls Stampede), Zeb Knutson (Sioux Falls Stampede), Hunter Warner (Waterloo Black Hawks), and Ryan Schwalbe (Youngstown Phantoms).

The Mavericks of Minnesota State are a member of the WCHA and have 15 USHL alumni on the roster this season; Blake Thompson (Waterloo/Sioux Falls), Carter Foguth (Muskegon Lumberjacks), Zach Palmquist (Waterloo Black Hawks), Max Gaede (Sioux City Musketeers), Jean-Paul Lafontaine (Green Bay Gamblers), J.P. Burkemper (Fargo/Des Moines), Jordan Nelson (Fargo Force), Mike Huntebrinker (Waterloo Black Hawks), Matt Leitner (Fargo Force), Zach Lehrke (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Chase Grant (Fargo Force), Zach Stepan (Waterloo Black Hawks), Dylan Margonari (Youngstown Phantoms), Brett Stern (Green Bay Gamblers), and Stephon Williams (Waterloo/Sioux Falls).

The entire Mavericks coaching staff also has ties to the USHL.  Head coach Mike Hastings is the League’s all-time wins leader (529) as he led the Omaha Lancers for 14 seasons, assistant coach Todd Knott played in the USHL and coached in both Des Moines and Sioux City, and assistant coach Darren Blue played two seasons for the Des Moines Buccaneers.

(Nathan can be reached at nathanfournier@mainehockeyjournal.com)

No comments: